Township Trustees

Belmont County, Ohio – Township Officials

In the State of Ohio, there are 1362 Townships. Each township is governed by a three-member board of trustees, who are elected in November of odd-numbered years to a four-year term beginning on the following January 1. Two are elected in the year after the presidential election and one is elected in the year before it. There is also an elected Township Fiscal Officer (formerly known as the Township Clerk), who serves a four-year term beginning on April 1 of the year after the election, which is held in November of the year before the presidential election. Vacancies in the fiscal officership or on the board of trustees are filled by the remaining trustees. Townships, just like County, City and Village governments, are an independent government entity.

Information about Townships in Ohio can be found at

The duties of Township Trustees can be found in the Ohio Revised Code at 

For the most updated Township Directory please click on the link below.  Updated January 19, 2024.

NEW2024 Township Trustee & Fiscal Officer Directory